Driving while intoxicated in the state of New York is a serious crime. If you get on the road after having a few drinks, you could easily put yourself and other drivers on the road in danger. To combat the epidemic of drunk driving, the state has instilled harsh penalties for anyone convicted of a DWI charge.
What are the penalties for getting a DWI?
In the state of New York, driving while intoxicated is defined as driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more if you’re a regular driver or 0.04 if you’re driving a commercial vehicle. If you’re charged with a DWI, you could be facing up to $1,000 in fines, a year of jail time and loss of your license for up to six months.
Drunk driving charges can compound with other charges to result in harsher penalties. For example, if you have a BAC of 0.18 or higher, you might face an aggravated DWI charge. This could result in a year of jail time and a $2,500 fine. If you refuse to take a sobriety test, a court could charge you for that refusal.
You might also face higher penalties if this isn’t your first offense. For a second offense, you might have to pay $5,000 in fines and spend up to four years in jail. Third offenses come with up to $7,000 in fines and possibly seven years in jail. An attorney might be able to help you prepare a defense regardless of the severity of the charges.
Is it possible to fight a DWI charge?
Fighting a DWI charge can be challenging, but an attorney could figure out the best defense for your case. They could assist you with first offenses as well as aggravated DWIs and other compounded charges.